The Laminex Group has announced that the winner of the Sykes 06 Overall Design Excellence Award is Karryn Irwin from Interia for her work on the Learning Hubs Project at the University of Tasmania, with architecture by Crawford Shurman Architects.

Interia and Crawford Shurman Architects were engaged by the University of Tasmania to develop the learning hubs within the existing Sandy Bay and Newnham campus libraries. The design solution offers students a range of different work environments to match individual study styles.

“We’d like to congratulate the team who worked on this project, which all the judges agree used thoughtful and innovative design to meet their brief,” says Matt Earl, marketing manager of The Laminex Group for Victoria and Tasmania.

“The project team also displayed an excellent knowledge of the capability, applications and product integration of The Laminex Group products,” he says.

A range of products from The Laminex Group portfolio was used for the project including Laminex Timber Veneers in Golden Fineline and Tasmanian Oak, Laminex Colour Palette in Charcoal and White, as well as Formica ColorCore.

“I chose invigorating and fresh colours from a selection of products from The Laminex Group to create a space that was empowering,” says Karryn. “The products are also fit for purpose, easy to maintain and durable, which was essential for this project.” Karryn has won a trip for two to the Cologne Furniture Fair in Germany next year, flying Emirates.

The Laminex Group Sykes Awards is a competition for architectural specifiers and interior designers from Victoria and Tasmania to encourage original and inspired projects and recognise their support of The Laminex Group’s brands.

“This being the inaugural year for the awards, we were extremely pleased with the number and quality of entries we received,” says Matt.

The category winners were Multi-Residential – Brianna Scarlett, Deborah Schmideg, Alex Anderhub and David Hockley from dKO Interiors for the UV Apartments in Adelaide; Institutional – Adrian Doohan from DesignInc for Deakin University Metabolic Research Unit in Melbourne; Commercial – Caroline Lieu from Hassell for Australia Post in Melbourne; and Retail/Hospitality – Shannon Creasey from Fathom Design for Barcode Tabletops in Melbourne.

Winners were awarded their prizes at a ceremony held at Melbourne venue, Comme, on Wednesday August 16, 2006.