Three industry icons – Frank Lowy, Dick Dusseldorp and Ray Powys – have been inducted to the newly launched Australian Property Hall of Fame.

The Australian Property Hall of Fame has been established by the Property Council of Australia to honour individuals for their major pioneering contribution, sustained leadership and lasting legacy to the property industry and Australian society.

The inauguration ceremony took place in front of 600 people at the Property Congress Gala Dinner on Wednesday 31 October 2012.

Frank Lowy is the co-founder and chairman of the Westfield Group; Dick Dusseldorp is the founder and chairman of Lend Lease; and Ray Powys is AMP’s first Property Investment Manager and Founding President and Inaugural CEO of the forerunner to the Property Council of Australia.

Property Council national president Darren Steinberg said each of the three inductees were giants of the industry.

“The Australian Property Hall of Fame acknowledges property industry pioneers whose astonishing imagination, unbridled energy and keen entrepreneurial talents transformed Australia into a dynamic, prosperous society,” he said.

“The inaugural inductees not only shaped Australia’s urban landscape, they helped unleash an aspirational ethos and vitality that defines our national identity.”
Inductees were selected by the Board of the Property Council of Australia. It is planned to announce further inductees annually.