The Australian Retailers Association (ARA) has announced the category winners for the ORACLE Australian Retailer of the Year 2010 as part of the ARA Australian Retail Awards.

ARA executive director Russell Zimmerman said ORACLE Australian Retailer of the Year 2010 category winners were:

• Food, drink and grocery – Coles   
• Department stores – David Jones 
• Household goods retailing – JB HiFi
• Clothing and footwear – TS14+
• Restaurants, cafés and takeaway – Grill’d
• Specialty retailing – Smiggle

“Category winners were decided via a national retail industry online vote ensuring those retailers nominated are respected and recognised from within their own sector,” Zimmerman said.

He also said the category winners will compete for the major title of ORACLE Australian Retailer of the Year to be announced at the ARA Retail Awards breakfast on Tuesday 21 September at the Sydney Exhibition and Conference Centre, Darling Harbour.

The overall winner will receive the Australian Retailer of the Year perpetual trophy, handed over from 2009 winner Country Road.

The ARA Australian Retail Awards breakfast will also announce winners of other ARA Australian Retail Awards categories: Australian Young Retailer of the Year, Australian Independent Retailer of the Year, Charter Security Australian Retail Innovator of the Year and Australian Retail Graduate of the Year.

“It’s been a difficult year for retailers dealing with poor trade and huge changes to their employer obligations, so the ARA Australian Retail Awards will be a great boost for resilient retailers who have managed to convert challenges into opportunities,” Zimmerman said.

The ARA Australian Retail Awards program is the only national retail awards program showcasing retail leaders. It has been designed to recognise the outstanding achievements of individuals and organisations in the growth and development of their businesses and their contributions towards retailing in Australia.