As part of the company’s annual general meeting, Australian Gift & Homewares Association confirmed the election of three new board members: Gloria Gattuso, Theatre Imports; Renske Carbone, Colours of Australia and Tim McCauley, Artiana Pty Ltd.
Nigel Kirby, Science and Nature, was re-elected President, John Kalleske, Somerset Distribution and Pat Guest, Madras Link were elected as Vice Presidents and Barry Marks, Stylesetter International Co. Pty Ltd was elected as Treasurer.
“This is a terrific result for the AGHA. Not only do we benefit from the continuity of existing, long-serving board members but I anticipate that the new directors will bring a different perspective and an injection of new ideas,” said David Leek, CEO, AGHA.
“It is essential that the AGHA is overseen by committed directors.  Our membership should reflect on the fact that these are voluntary roles which makes the effort made by our directors all the more impressive.”
Last financial year, AGHA reported a surplus of $439,000 which Leek said was a result of continued strong support of the Association by Members along with a renewed and careful focus on operational, resource and financial issues by AGHA management and the board.
“We recognise the need to continue to innovate to remain relevant.  A main focus moving forward will be monitoring our trade fair offerings to ensure that we continue to represent outstanding value for our Members,” he said.
The full committee comprises of:
Nigel Kirby, Science and Nature (President)
John Kalleske, Somerset Distribution (Vice-President)
Patricia Guest, Madras Link (Vice-President)
Barry Marks, StyleSetter International Co. (Treasurer)
Rowen Bavinton, Boyles
Renske Carbone, Colours of Australia
David Schwartz, Shanghaied
Joel Farberman, Swish Collection
Gloria Gattuso, Theatre Imports
Christophe Rymer, Francalia
Dean Osmond, Baden P Morris
Tim McCauley, Artiana